Why a Bergen County speeding lawyer is the wisest choice for your case
A speeding ticket can cause of lot of headaches and financial loss. A conviction means substantial fines. Speeders also get points on their driving record, which can lead to increased insurance premiums. If a driver has too many points on his/her record, loss of license can result. The number of points on a driver’s record increases the faster the driver was operating the vehicle. The fines also increase as the speed goes up. Speeding can result in two to five points on the driver’s record.
How to Handle a Bergen County, New Jersey Speeding Ticket
Many of our Bergen County criminal lawyers are former prosecutors or worked for law enforcement agencies before joining our firm. The attorneys at Aiello, Harris, Abate Law Firm have over 250 years of combined litigation experience defending people accused of crimes and offenses, including speeding tests. We challenge the accuracy of the readings—such as radar tests—on the grounds that the machines weren’t properly inspected or properly used. Drivers who were exceeded the speed limit on New Jersey Route 17, County Route 503, Bergenline Avenue, or any other Bergen County roadway should speak with our experienced lawyers before considering paying for the ticket. There may be defenses. Often, we can negotiate to reduce the offense.
What happens if you get a traffic ticket in Bergen County?
Anyone charged with a speeding violation in Bergen has the option to pay the fine set forth on the ticket and by providing payment through the mail. Now, anyone ticketed for speeding on Bergen County roads can also pay their ticket online. Payment of the ticket means you are pleading guilty to the offense and that the NJ Department of Transportation (NJDOT) will be notified of the violation. NJDOT may notify out of state transportation departments as well.
A driver charged with a speeding ticket will be notified that they must appear in court unless they make arrangements to pay the fine in advance. The police officer and/or a prosecutor will appear at the court hearing at the assigned date and time.
Before the hearing begins, a defense attorney, such as one of our Bergen County speeding defense lawyers, will speak with the officer or prosecutor. Often, we can negotiate a plea bargain where the speeding ticket offense is reduced so that the points are decreased.
If an agreement is not reached, there will be a hearing before the traffic court judge. During the hearing, the defense lawyer will have the right to cross-examine the police officer and introduce other evidence.
Our speeding ticket defense lawyers in Bergen County NJ will often argue:
- That the test was defective
- That the officer did not conduct the test properly
- That there was an emergency situation that justified the driver in driving that fast
- That the officer tested the wrong car
The judge can dismiss the charges, reduce the charges to a lower speed, or find the driver guilty.
Drivers who complete an approved driver improvement course may be eligible to have points taken off their driving record.
What are typical court costs?
Speeders will be required to pay the following court fines:
- 1 to 9 miles over the speed limit. $85
- 10-14 miles over the speed limit. $95
- 15-19 miles over the speed limit. $105
- 20-24 miles over the speed limit. $200
- 25-29 miles over the speed limit. $220
- 30-34 miles over the speed limit. $240
- 35-39 miles over the speed limit. $260
What are the points assessed for a speeding ticket?
- 1-14 mph is 2 points.
- 15-29 mph is 4 points.
- 30 mph or above is 5 points.
- The New Jersey point schedule can be seen here: http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Violations/penalties_pointSchedule.htm
These fines will be doubled if the driver was on a road with a speed limit of 65 mph or on a highway that was designated a safe corridor, or a road where construction work was being done.
Violators will also be required to pay court costs. Surcharges may apply if a driver accumulates six or more points within a three-year period.
Speak with a Bergen County speeding lawyer before you pay the fine
At Aiello, Harris, Abate, Law Group PC, our Traffic lawyers in Lyndhurst of Bergen County have helped many in-state and out-of-state drivers have their ticket charges dismissed or reduced. The increased insurance premiums for just one year usually justify the expense of hiring an experienced attorney. Insurance companies often charge drivers who pled guilty to speeding for several years. Fines and surcharges can quickly add up, too. If you have too many points, defeating or reducing the charges can be the only way to keep your license. To discuss your case for free, please call (908) 561-5577 or fill out our contact form to schedule an appointment.
Bergen Towns We Cover
Our Bergen County criminal law practice focuses on, but is not limited to cases within the following town: