Somerset County Theft Lawyers
Have You Been Charged With Theft in Somerset County?
If you have been charged with theft in Somerset County, you need to consult with an experienced Somerset County criminal attorney. There are many kinds of theft charges in the state. New Jersey statutes identify theft as the “unlawful taking” or exercising control over the property of someone else. The individual charged with the theft must have acted with the intentions of depriving the owner of his or her property.
Some theft charges listed in New Jersey code:
- Theft of lost property or property that has been delivered by mistake
- Receiving stolen property
- Theft by deception
- Theft of services
- Concealment of library material
The various charges incur different penalties. If you are facing theft charges, you should consult with an experienced Somerset County theft attorney. Aiello, Harris, Marth, Tunnero & Schiffman, P.C. is one of the most experienced criminal defense firms in New Jersey. They have helped hundreds of clients who have been charged with theft throughout the years.
What Should You Do If You Have Been Charged With Theft?
If you have been accused of any kind of theft, you need to consult with an experienced Somerset County criminal defense attorney. Exercise your right to remain silent until you have consulted with a member of our legal team. We have legal professionals available 24-hours a day, 7 days a week because we know legal emergencies cannot wait.
Being convicted of theft can haunt you the rest of your life. Any charges should be taken seriously. We have the experience and know-how to build a strong defense on your behalf. Because we know how the legal system works and the various laws so well, we can minimize the negative impact such accusations have on your record.
What Are the Differences Between Theft and Robbery
While theft and robbery charges involve taking property that does not belong to you, these criminal charges in New Jersey are very different. Theft charges are filed on different levels, ranging from theft as a disorderly persons offense, which involves the theft of property worth less than $200, on up to theft as a crime in the fourth degree for theft of property valued from $200 to $500. Theft as a crime of the third degree involves property or services worth more than $500 but less than $75,000 then theft as a crime of the second degree involves property valued in excess of $75,000. Of course, the higher the value of the property, the more harsh the punishment and fines.
Theft is elevated to robbery if the event inflicts injury on another, threatening another with bodily injury or harm or threatening the immediate commission of a crime in the first or second degree. Timing plays a role in whether the robbery charge is warranted. If the robbery charge is being based on theft while using force, the intent to commit the theft has to happen before or during the use of force. The term “bodily injury” can be used loosely as New Jersey law does not put strict limits on the term.
The theft lawyers at Aiello, Harris, Marth, Tunnero & Schiffman, P.C. have decades of experience representing clients who have been accused of the various kinds of theft charges. We have a reputation for being aggressive, hard-hitting attorneys. Call us today at (908) 561-5577 or contact us online to schedule a consultation at one of our many offices located across New Jersey.