New Jersey is different from many other states in characterizing crimes. First, New Jersey does not use the traditional terms of felonies and misdemeanors to classify their crimes. Instead, New Jersey uses indictable crimes to classify felonies. New Jersey statute N.J.S.A. 2C:43-1 sets forth the degree of crimes. Degrees Of Crimes In New Jersey There … Continue reading What Are The Differences Between Misdemeanor And Felony Charges?
Probation is a jail alternative to those convicted of a criminal offense. If you abide by the law, report to your probation officer as mandated, and maintain employment, being on probation is relatively easy. When it is offered, our New Jersey criminal lawyers recommend accepting probation as an alternative sentencing agreement. Here is a general … Continue reading Common Conditions of Probation in New Jersey
Expungement is a way to seal your criminal record from a normal arrest record search. If you have ever been arrested or convicted of a crime other than a traffic violation, the file appears on your arrest record. Expungement does not completely destroy your file — rather it moves the file to a special location … Continue reading What Crimes Can Be Expunged in NJ?
With overpopulation and millions of drivers on the road, New Jersey is strict on enforcing driving laws. Sometimes, too strict. One plague to the NJ traffic violations organization is its system of tacking on additional surcharges to already skyrocketing fines. With an extra surcharge, you can find yourself paying double the amount of the original … Continue reading New Jersey Traffic Ticket Surcharges FAQs
Resisting arrest means you are accused of purposely preventing a police officer from arresting you. This can be done by running away, inflicting violence, driving away, and otherwise making it difficult for law enforcement to bring you into custody. Typically a disorderly persons offense, resisting could be raised to an indictable crime (a felony) if … Continue reading What are the Punishments for Resisting Arrest in New Jersey?
A specific term of imprisonment under N.J.S.A. 2C:43-2b(3) is distinct from imprisonment as a condition of probation under N.J.S.A. 2C:43-2b(2). In the latter case, a defendant convicted of a crime may be sentenced to a term of imprisonment not to exceed 364 days as a condition of probation (90 days in the case of a … Continue reading What Are Custodial Sentences
In today’s highly connected society, there are so many blurred lines when it comes to Internet communications and texting. The laws are slowly catching up. On November 26, 2013, a New Jersey Appellate Court upheld limited Internet access for convicted sex offenders who are on parole, prohibiting them from accessing online social networks. These included … Continue reading Social Media, Texting, and Sex Crimes in New Jersey
Under New Jersey law, if a person is found to be driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level above 0.08%, they are driving while intoxicated (DWI). The zero tolerance BAC limit for drivers younger than 21 is 0.02%. In most states, there is an additional category of DWI that carries penalties that are much … Continue reading What Are the Penalties for an Aggravated DWI In NJ
While juvenile cases are handled differently that those of adult offenders, your son, daughter, or other loved one could be facing some serious consequences. Additionally, the process for a juvenile offender (someone aged 18 or younger) is very different from that of an adult. When a juvenile is being charged with a crime, it is … Continue reading What is the Court Process for a Juvenile Offender In NJ?